Loading

Medical Marijuana Card Renew

Colorado marijuana patients have swelled to well over 100,000 MMj card holders over the past year because it’s very easy to get your medical cannabis card in Colorado and be free finally of persecution for smoking pot.  The marijuana cards in Colorado are valid for exactly 1 year from the time of issue, much more liberal than some states.  In Colorado, you get your doctor’s signature, and you are good to go for at least a year because after you send in your paper work, the CDPHE marijuana registry takes time to process the paperwork, and the expiration date is usually a few months after your doctor’s signature.  Many patients in Colorado are good for close to 2 years after they see the doctor from the time they first got their marijuana forms filled out.  It’s been about 1-1/2 to 2 years now since the Colorado marijuana party began and weed is everywhere, but many of those mmj cards are expired, or about to expire and it’s time for patients to renew their cards.

Why renew your medical marijuana card?  Primarily if you are a dispensary shopper you will need a medical marijuana card according to CO HB 10 – 1284.  If you wish to visit dispensaries, High Country Caregiver recommends renewing your card.  Patients who grow their own or use a caregiver however may want to consider twice whether or not they should renew.  New laws about marijuana primarily relate to dispensaries, or centers, but as a patient, you can choose to obide by Amendment 20 instead, the original marijuana law protecting your which does not say it is mandatory to send in your paperwork, pay $90 and have a marijuana card.  This is a good option to keep open, keeping your marijuana medicine between you and your doctor, and keeping the state out of it.

The Colorado Department of Revenue fully plans to invade your privacy and share your marijuana use, and purchases with law enforcement, the DEA, insurance companies and the DMV.  HCC will not insult your intelligence by telling you the dangers of sharing this information.  The medical marijuana registry was supposed to be confidential, but if you choose to go to a dispensary, as a registered patient, a picture of you with your marijuana purchase will be stored to eventually be used against you.  Make no mistake Colorado marijuana patients, the old rule of thumb in the drug world always has been to keep your mouth shut.  Now is the time to decide if you want to share your information with those dispensary owners on the sinking ship of fulls incriminating themselves.  Do not renew your card if you enjoy your freedom, all you need is a caregiver and a doctor’s note.

photo of marijuana card

Photo of real Colorado marijuana card

blog comments powered by i420 & Disqus
  • http://mmrockies.com Jerry

    This requires you to go to court if your found with ANY marijuana to defend your argument. Though it can work (did it this way personally in 2005 at Eagle County Courts w/ Judge Sullivan) if your a caregiver it will also requires your patient to come to testify. Know your patient personally and make sure they FULLY support you IN WRITING in case you have to go to court and present that contract to the judge. Remember a doctors note is not a get out of jail free card like the state mmj license when speaking to a cop.

    Jerry Olson
    owner of Medical Marijuana of the Rockies

  • http://www.highcountrycaregiver.com High Country Caregiver

    Giving the registry your information who will pass it on to the police means getting your card = drug investigation which will certainly lead to interrogation and persecution. Avoid police interrogation by not sending in your renewal paper work. The police have no business in marijuana anymore and should not be given confidential information according to Amendment 20 of the Colorado constitution.

  • Jay91ny

    There is about a 6 month period in colorado that it takes you to get the actual card. during this waiting period ur still able to pick up meds at any dipense. When they send the card to you it is dated from the day they prossesed it giving you actually 1yr and 6 mo, only paying for 1 yr and getting 6 mo free.

  • Anonymous

    so if i go to the dr tomorow , i found one off craigs list for 60, can i go dispensary that day?
    aLSO i have an outa state liscence is that a problem?

  • Zfox1000

    Jerry, do u need a doctors note in order to obtain a medical marijuana license to operate or in other words to open a medical marijuana dispensary?

  • Bill Thompson

    Please tell me, am I just SOL? I have arthritis and persistent back pain, some of which could be associated with diabetes 2. Two years ago I got a MMJ card in Colorado. My work requires me to headquarter out of state, which means that I can only get back to Colorado 3 to 4 times a year. I am HQ’d in a state with no MMJ law. Do I have any options?

  • http://www.highcountrycaregiver.com High Country Caregiver

    What State?  

  • Cindy

    My card is expired. Your saying I don’t have to renew if I choose to not got through a dispensary. What if I don’t grow myself. How then can I obtain herb without having a card that isn’t expired?

Rss Feed Tweeter button Facebook button Technorati button Reddit button Linkedin button Webonews button Delicious button Digg button Stumbleupon button Newsvine button